And the 2012 99-Seat Producers Transitional Committee Members are…

On Tuesday, July 10, at a meeting of Los Angeles 99-seat theater producers, a motion was passed to elect a 14-member 99 Seat Producers’ League Transitional Committee. The election was completed on July 27, and the votes tallied on July 28.

Theatre producers, independent producers and other theater professionals were asked to vote for the best candidates from a list of self-entered individuals.  Surprisingly, at first, some of these people did not want to put themselves on the list.

2012 99-Seat Producers Transitional Committe

Jenny Byrd, Brimmer Street Theatre Company
Gregory Crafts, Theatre Unleashed
Rick Culbertson, independent producer
Martha Demson, Open Fist Theatre Company
David Elzer, Demand Productions
John Flynn, Rogue Machine
Gedaly Guberek, Coeurage Theatre Company
Michael Kricfalusi, Celebration Theatre
David Mack, Watts Village Theater Company
JJ Mayes, Sacred Fools Theater Company
Matt McCray, Son of Semele Ensemble
Oanh Nguyen, Chance Theater
Michael Seel, Theatre @ Boston Court
Tim Wright, Circle X Theatre Company

The 99 Seat Producer Transitional Committee will consist of up to 14 professional producers in the 99-seat arena who will meet with producer representatives of the large and mid-sized theaters to form an exploratory committee. This exploratory committee will recommend by-laws and best practices to the entire body of professional theatereproducers for adoption and creation of a Greater Los Angeles Producers’ League, to be approved by the producing community at large.

It is understood that within a Producers’ League that includes theaters of all sizes, there would still be groups to address the specific needs of segments of the community (such as the 99 seat theaters). In addition, if the transitional committee determines that a League which includes larger theaters is not workable, the transitional committee has the ability to recommend the creation of a Producers’ League that is exclusively for 99-seat producers.

%d bloggers like this: