HAIRSPRAY at the Dolby Theatre

(center) Niki Metcalf as “Tracy Turnblad” and the Company of Hairspray. Photo: Jeremy Daniel.

Reviewed and Recorded by Tracey Paleo, Gia On The Move

Niki Metcalf brought down the house…

on opening night as lead renegade, hair-hoppin’ trend-setter, Tracy Turnblad.  And she wasn’t alone.  The entire HAIRSPRAY touring cast was “all in” for their first Los Angeles performance. 


I mean, it’s HAIRSPRAY! What’s not to love?! #theater #theatre #review #HairsprayOnTour #HairsprayMusical @GiaMedia3 @HairsprayOnTour



Instagram: @HairsprayOnTour TikTok: 


Facebook: @HairsprayOnTour
Twitter: @HairsprayOnTour
Hashtags: #HairsprayOnTour #HairsprayMusical

Playing at the Dolby Theatre May 2- 21, 2023

6801 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028

Tuesday – Friday at 8pm Saturday at 2pm & 8pm Sunday at 1pm & 6:30pm


Phone:  1-800-982-2787

In Person: Dolby Theatre Box Office (Visit website for hours)

This new touring production reunites Broadway’s award-winning creative team, led by Director Jack O’Brien and Choreographer Jerry Mitchell, to bring HAIRSPRAY to a new generation of theater audiences. HAIRSPRAY is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who served as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. HAIRSPRAY features an original score by Academy Award-nominated Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. The tour is produced by NETworks Presentations.

The cast is led by Andrew Levitt aka Nina West (from “RuPaul’s Drag Race”) as Edna Turnblad and introducing Niki Metcalf as Tracy Turnblad.

Joining them are Charlie Bryant III as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Nick Cortazzo as Link Larkin, Ralph Prentice Daniel as Wilbur Turnblad, Billy Dawson as Corny Collins, Ryahn Evers as Amber Von Tussle, Addison Garner as Velma Von Tussle, Emery Henderson as Penny Pingleton and Joi D. McCoy as Little Inez.

The ensemble consists of Sydney Archibald, Kelly Barberito, Tommy Betz, Helene Britany, Caroline Eiseman, Melanie Puente Ervin, Craig First, Alex Fullerton, Annie Gagen, Carly Haig, Lauren Johnson, Sabrina Joseph, Greg Kalafatas, Kyle Kavully, Matthew J. Kelly, McLaine Meachem, Faith Northcutt, Nicholas Dion Reese, Sage, Micah Sauvageau, Clint Maddox Thompson, Jade Turner, Mickey White and Emmanuelle Zeesman. 

Additional creative team for HAIRSPRAY includes Tour Director Matt Lenz, Tour Choreographer Robbie Roby, Set Designer David Rockwell, Lighting Designer Kenneth Posner, Tour Lighting Designer Paul Miller, Costume Designer William Ivey Long, Hair and Wig Designer Paul Huntley, Richard Mawbey and Bernie Ardia, Sound Designer Shannon Slaton, Music Supervisor Keith Thompson, and Casting by Stewart/Whitley.

Photo by Jeremy Daniel: (center) Niki Metcalf as “Tracy Turnblad” and the Company of Hairspray.

Copyright © 2023 Gia On The Move. All rights reserved. 

Written and/or recorded exclusively for Gia On The Move. No part of this Gia On The Move publication, writing, video, or audio may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior written permission of the publisher, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical reviews and certain other noncommercial uses permitted by copyright law. Copyright infringement is a crime. For permission requests, write to the publisher, addressed “Attention: Gia On The Move Permissions Coordinator”. For more information please review our reprints and permissions page


%d bloggers like this: