Erika Wennerstrom Shares ‘Extraordinary Love’ Video

Erika Wennerstrom shares her breathtakingly powerful video for Extraordinary Love via TIDAL, who calls it a “fittingly and gorgeously trippy video.”

This new music video is a motion picture of the first single from Wennerstrom’s debut solo record, Sweet Unknown, out now on Partisan Records. Rolling Stone considers the record one of the best of the month, and placed it as an editor’s pick of 10 Albums to Stream Now, alongside Jack White and Neil Young.

“When Erika asked me to direct the video, I immediately thought of West Texas. We’ve taken many road trips out there together and the strangeness & vastness of the desert resonated with me and the message of the song. I wanted to share the distance that Erika has traveled within herself. She’s been on a long journey of the mind and heart, and I wanted the video to visually express her choice to open the door to the unknown, and how brave I think that is. This is her first solo album, and I wanted to represent that independence. And of course, I also just wanted to play in the dirt with my friends.” ~ Laura Wallgren (True Detective, Jessica Jones, Nurse Jackie), Video Director

“The prospect of working with Laura Wallgren was really exciting to me. She has been a great friend of mine for a long time now. She is always working on other directors’ projects, but I know she has such creative ideas of her own. We have taken a lot of trips out to west Texas together and have a real bond with our mutual love of that region and it’s landscape. Since I wrote quite a bit of the album out there, It felt like a very fitting location to shoot the video. We shot most of it in the Ghost town of Terlingua.” ~ Erika Wennerstrom

The album, Sweet Unknown, debuted on Consequence of Sound, complete with a track-by-track description of each track. COS says, “positivity can be heard throughout the album’s nine tracks. Songs like the slow-burning, almost meditative Be Good to Yourself promote self-love, while Like A Bird advises that we “open up and let the good things come.”

First single to be released from the album, Extraordinary Love, debuted on Rolling Stone and established the core themes of the record.

Rolling Stone writes, “After more than a decade fronting the Austin, Texas-based Heartless Bastards, Erika Wennerstrom needed a break. Not just from the band, but a spiritual break as well. Now, having spent the past couple of years on a journey of self-exploration, she chronicles her discoveries on Extraordinary Love.”

Expanding on this in her own words, Wennerstrom says, “I was at a point where I was deeply unhappy, and on a whim, I decided to do an Ayahuasca retreat… Despite the idea frightening me, I felt I needed something to change within me so bad that I had nothing to lose. It really opened the door and started me on a path to many self-realizations.”

Sweet Unknown is still available now via all leading Digital Service Providers, and while supplies last, there is a limited edition version pressed on double white vinyl.

Track listing:

1. Twisted Highway
2. Extraordinary Love
3. Letting Go
4. Time
5. Be Good To Yourself
6. Staring Out The Window
7. Good To Be Alone
8. Like A Bird
9. Gravity


Photo (above) by Linda Beecroft: Erika Wennerstrom