On May 16th LA’s creative spirit is honored with the 2016 City of Los Angeles (C.O.L.A.) Individual Artists Fellowships


art C.O.L.A.“Los Angeles is the creative crossroads of the world, with a dynamic and diverse arts scene,” said Mayor Garcetti. “The C.O.L.A. grants from L.A.’s Department of Cultural Affairs are an investment in our local artists, and the new works they produce through this program enhance our city as a global destination for art, culture, and creativity.”

Los Angeles boasts a high concentration of artists and is the only City in the country to support individual artists with grants each year.

The City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs (DCA) awards 12 exemplary mid-career artists whose achievements enhance our dynamic and diverse city.

Each artist will present new work created specifically for C.O.L.A., at DCA’s

Los Angeles Municipal Art Gallery (LAMAG) located at:
4800 Hollywood Boulevard in Barnsdall Art Park
from May 15 through July 3, 2016

Opening Reception is on May 15, from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Chosen by a team of experts, the 2016 C.O.L.A. award recipients in the visual arts include: Paolo Davanzo, Marsian De Lellis, Keiko Fukazawa, Megan Geckler, Won Ju Lim, Blue McRight, Sandeep Mukherjee, Christine Nguyen, and Jim Skuldt. The 2016 C.O.L.A. award recipients in literature are Sarah Maclay, Claudia Rodriguez, and Lynne Thompson. Each artist will present new work created specifically for C.O.L.A. with a $10,000 grant awarded by DCA.